The old Tobey house still charms Linden Avenue | News

Most recently operated as a vacation rental, the quaint structure at the corner of Linden Avenue and Eighth Street boasts quite a long history.

YE Thurmond built the house in 1887 on the Russell Ranch off Casitas Pass Road near Lions Park. In 1894, a fire destroyed the White Sulfur Hotel on Linden Avenue, and owner HJ Laughlin had the Thurmond House moved to the site.

The structure acquired its longtime name, the Tobey House, in 1909 when Warren and May Tobey moved in. The Tobeys raised two generations of children in the corner house before it was sold.

After the Tobeys, the building began to be used for commercial purposes. Everything from a surf shop to a tattoo parlor operated there. More recently it was Heart’s Delight then Hollyhock Cottage. Several years ago it became the Linden House, a three-bedroom vacation rental, and now operates as Providence Beach House.

To learn more about the history of Carpinteria, visit the Carpinteria Valley History Museum website carpinteriahistoricalmuseum.org to access more local history articles. To support the preservation of local history, consider becoming a member of the Carpinteria Historical Society.